dusting this off for some new life…

I have a project, and I decided a few days ago this project will involve this blog.

Next week I celebrate a birthday.  When birthdays roll around, people tend to reflect on the year that has passed and the year to come.  I don’t feel like I’ve ever been particularly philosophical on my birthday – I am grateful for the blessings God has given the past year and I look forward to the ones in store.  I never make plans about what the next year should hold, because frankly, I have no idea what’s in store and I’d rather just wait and see.

But this year, I decided to make a plan.  This coming birthday isn’t a milestone, per se, but I do have a lot of fun things already planned for the coming year, so I decided this year will be full of bucket-list items.  I have plans to do great things, and I’m going to document those great things on this blog.  New life, joaninordinarytime!  Here comes some adventure!

The tricky thing is that I don’t know what to call this.  Some of the things I plan to do are probably bucket list items.  But others are just fun things that I have never really put on a bucket list… because let’s face it, there are really only a few things on my bucket list, and one of them is Australia, and that’s not happening this year.

Plus, I’m not turning 80, I’m turning much less than that. So it seems a little silly to call it a bucket list.

So I need your help.  These are items that I’m accomplishing this year so I don’t have to put them on my bucket list someday. But that’s a mouthful and certainly doesn’t fit in an Instagram hashtag.

Are you ready, world?  It’ll all be documented here. And it starts tomorrow (a little earlier than my birthday, but who says you can’t celebrate early?).

But first I need a hashtag.

9 thoughts on “dusting this off for some new life…

  1. Amy says:

    Before I ever heard the term “bucket list,” a friend told me about her “100 Dreams and Goals” list. Nobody ever understands what I mean when I say that, so I just say “bucket list,” but I like “dreams and goals” much better. #dreamsandgoals

    • Ooh, I love the idea of that. The price tag does give me pause, and I wonder if I would really use it. But it’s beautiful, and I love at least the thought of it! : )

  2. Liza D says:

    Well, you’re thirtysomething, and it’s not a bucket list, it’s a #bucketsomething? I don’t know. I’ll keep thinking… and defer totally to your brother when he comes up with something amazing.

Leave a Reply

