Historic Philadelphia

Today I may or may not have had a tour of historic Philadelphia from a guy who once played “young Ben Franklin” in a summer play on the streets of Philly.

Not only did I see where it all went down…

IMG_2823(confession: I wanted to sing songs from 1776 the whole time.)

But I also saw where (most of) our Founding Fathers worshipped:

IMG_2837
Christ Church- the Anglican church were many of the Founding Fathers, Betsy Ross, and the Penn family all had pews

And where they worked.  This is right by Ben Franklin’s house (right next to his printery office) and it’s still a working post office!

IMG_2843

We also visited Old St. Joseph’s, the first Catholic church in Philadelphia

IMG_2829

The beautiful painting on the ceiling was a gift from Francis Drexel’s estate. Yeah, like St. Katherine Drexel’s dad.

IMG_2828

IMG_2844
Getting ready for the Pope!

And after a full afternoon at World Meeting of Families, we returned where we began the day – in the footsteps of the Founding Fathers – and had a drink at the pub where they hung out.  I’m pretty sure the real work of the Continental Congresses probably happened here.

IMG_2836 IMG_2856

IMG_2855

I couldn’t help but continue to think… what were these guys thinking? When they were all sitting at their Anglican service, did they have any idea what the heck was happening in this new country?  Did they realize they were making history?  Or were they just doing, in the words of Father Mike Schmitz, “the next thing” ??  I just wonder.

3 thoughts on “Historic Philadelphia

  1. I haven’t been to Philly since grade school and I’m loving your daily updates and taking notes for a future trip with our kids! If I can’t go to the events myself it’s great to follow someone who is and in a small way share the experience. Thanks!

  2. Amy says:

    I would have LOVED to have been there with you…this is a day from my bucket list! And I totally would have sung the 1776 songs with you.

Leave a Reply

