Wednesday morning thoughts

I need to be finishing up a talk I’m giving this weekend, but I’m having trouble hunkering down and concentrating, so I thought writing here would give me some momentum.

I’m in my new office now. A little more than half of us from the old building are now in the new building, and everyone is at various stages of settling in.  Phones and internet are still in limbo for some people, so I’m pretty lucky that I have both.  Nothing is hung up on my walls yet, but all of my furniture is in place and I’m completely unpacked.  I suppose that’s one of the perks of only being on the job for 8 months – I didn’t really have that much to pack and unpack.

The previous occupants of the building left a lot behind, so a few of us spent a few hours wandering around and seeing what goodies could be claimed.  The leftover office furniture has been parcelled out to various rooms, so I went to the “chair room” yesterday to look for a new desk chair.  I also had laid claim to a rocking chair that we found in one of the nursery classrooms, but I returned it once I realized I wouldn’t be able to sit and read in it for long amounts of time.

My commute hasn’t been terrible, mostly because I’m going the opposite direction from pretty much the entire rest of the city.  So while I’m going to be filling up the gas tank a lot more often, I’m still making it to work under 30 minutes. We’ll see if that changes after school starts.  I do feel a little isolated out here – no more meeting friends for lunch or dashing over to Aquinas College for Mass – but I suppose I’ll get used to that.  Jesus hasn’t moved to the new building yet, and I’m ready for that to happen too – I’ve worked with Jesus in the building for the last seven years, and you just get used to being able to pop in to say hello.

I guess that’s all for now.  Maybe I’ll post pictures eventually – my favorite room so far is the big auditorium that seats 800 (but doesn’t have built-in seats, so we can clear it out and set up tables for dinners, etc) and I’m antsy to have a class in there.  I guess I shouldn’t expect to fill it the first time I have an evening bible study out here, though, huh?  Start small…

Leave a Reply

