A quick catch up, plus a new writing gig

It’s always a good rule of thumb to blog when sleep-deprived.  You get the craziests posts that way. I actually just typed Hello, royal leaders! instead of loyal readers… and then ended up scrapping the whole paragraph I wrote.  Let’s try this again…

So we missed Easter and the entire Easter season, huh?  Now I’m back and it’s mid-June and I have a phone full of food pictures and a head full of blog posts, none of which have been written.  So here’s a quick rundown of what’s been happening.

I just got back from San Francisco, which deserves its own post.  The trip was incredible, even though the trip home was more eventful than it should have been.  (After being delayed out of San Francisco for no apparent reason, our connecting flight at O’Hare then left 5 minutes early…which turned into 12 hours of airport fun, as we tried to get home through weather delays, air traffic control messes, and a variety of standby flights.)

This summer I’m a regular blogger for a great site called Integrated Catholic Life. Check out my posts every Friday.

We had a little mini bourbon retreat last month, because that seems to be our Pentecost weekend tradition now. We hit up Barton’s, home of one of my favorites (1792) and Willet. Someday soon we want to visit Buffalo Trace, because I haven’t tasted much out of Buffalo Trace that I didn’t like. (Anyone have an extra bottle of William Larue they want to give me?)

May was also filled with fun events like Steeplechase and even a Rennaissance festival.  One week I was cheering on thoroughbreds while wearing a fascinator on my head, the next week I was watching jousting surrounded by people in costumes. Life is never dull unless you choose for it to be.

At work, we are the in the process of moving to a new building — hundreds of people in four locations moving to one single enormous complex on the other side of town. If it sounds eventful and crazy, it is.  Most of my stuff is over at the new place, but I’m staying in my old office for another week.  I’ll probably head over there next Monday and begin to make the new place home.  I’m grateful for the opportunities that the new complex will give us- like the 800 seat auditorium that is right next to my office.  The commute will take awhile to get used to (which is why I’m still working here for now!) but I think the future is exciting.

That’s it for now.

2 thoughts on “A quick catch up, plus a new writing gig

  1. Amy says:

    So good to see a new post – I’ve missed you! But glad you’ve had good things going on. Looking forward to your new writing gig. 🙂

Leave a Reply

