I’m here to say … nothing much.

My sister and I were discussing the blog world the other day, and where our perspective blogs fit, our readership, etc.  Eerily, Jenny had a similar post the same day, which struck me as funny since she’s one of the blogs I “look up” to in the blog world.

It made me think about this poor excuse for a blog, which I love so much but have neglected so much.  What is it’s purpose?  If I have something somewhat serious or profound, I’m more likely to head over to joanmwatson.com… which has also been neglected this summer.  If I am having a bad day or am going through a crisis that requires writing to process, I’m not likely to post that for the world to see.

Is this blog only good for gratuitous food shots?

IMG_9309an afternoon snack of “assorted toasts” at Pinewood Social

IMG_9387a breakfast treat on the feast of St. Max – a sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit from Porter Road Butcher

or worse yet, alcohol shots? (no pun intended.)

IMG_9255Samples at Turtle Anarchy Brewing, in our quest to find the best microbrewery here in Nashville

IMG_9333Samples at Fat Bottom.  You have to admit, they make a pretty scene…

Or maybe glamorous pictures of the single life (since I don’t have cute kids to post, I’ll post dinner parties?)

IMG_9356(photo courtesy of my friend Constanza)

I suppose this is a random blog post to come say that I don’t know what to say, but I’m in the writing mood and felt like coming here to say something.  Perhaps some day I’ll learn how to express what’s in my heart and mind without completely showing all my cards, and then I’ll be able to blog when I’m in these moods without boring everyone with a photo dump of random shots from the summer.

I’ll leave  you with this C.S. Lewis quote.  I found comfort in it this afternoon, although I don’t know how he can be 100% right unless he’s talking about heaven.

3d0edf3b-e84f-4b98-b031-33b07620bec1

But on that note, you should read this story and be jealous that I have one of the best bishops in the country.

 The end.

3 thoughts on “I’m here to say … nothing much.

  1. Amy says:

    I love everything about your blog! I think it lives up to its name…this is your ordinary life, with its perks, struggles, and ponderings. And I’ve followed the story…beautifully poignant.

  2. romancingreilly says:

    I second Amy’s comment. I love your blog. And I love reading about your ordinary things; but I also hear ya on the “WHY am I blogging again?” I’ve just about fallen off the blog bandwagon because … well, you know. I realized it’s not a priority in my life. I guess I’ve realized I don’t need a reason to blog and so, by not having a reason to blog means I do it very very very rarely.

    xo

Leave a Reply

