Resolutions

We were watching something on television the other day – I forget what- and they were asking people about their resolutions for the new year.  Some people answered with exactly what you’d expect – weight loss, organization, etc.  Then someone said something about not making resolutions because when they break them or don’t succeed they’ll just feel bad.

… Really?

How lame.  I liked the next answer much better– the guy said he doesn’t make New Year’s resolutions because he tries everyday to live better than day before, so there’s no need to make a special one on January 1.  Okay, I’ll grant that.

But not making one because you might fail and feel bad about it?

Is that a product of our culture, or have lame rationalizations been around since the beginning?  I suppose they have to a certain extent, but it does seem like our culture is becoming more content with mediocrity.  I could try to be better, but I might just fail, so why bother?  I’ll just be mediocre.

After all, in Matthew 5 Jesus says, “Be mediocre, as everyone else is mediocre.”

Oh wait.  He actually said, “Be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

Whoops.  It seems that He doesn’t care that you will probably fall short of that goal – He’s still going to set it.  And He’s going to give you help along the way (they’re called the sacraments) to help you reach it.

So whether you don’t make resolutions for January 1 because you make them every morning, or whether you’ve given yourself a goal for 2014, go and make resolutions.  There are enough mediocre people in this world.

(Full disclosure – I have resolved to write more in 2014.  Whether that’s on this blog, or as part of a project I’m working on (more later) or just working on the great American novel in a notebook somewhere, I know I need to write more. So you’ll hopefully have more blog posts to sleep through in 2014.)

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. Jill says:

    I was just thinking about this today. It seems like the new trend is breaking the trend of making resolutions. or breaking the trend of traditional resolutions, and making lame ones like “I’m resolving to laugh more in 2014.” How do you even measure that? How do you remember how much you laughed in 2013? We love to break trends, that’s for sure. My resolution for 2014 is to break the trend of breaking trends.

Leave a Reply

