Good intentions

You know what’s easier than living life?  Watching everyone else live it.  I had this feeling twice today.  Once when I came home tonight after teaching tonight and started clicking on some of the blogs I read periodically.  (I have a list of blogs I read regularly and some I visit now and then.)  One of the bloggers was talking about the book they just wrote. I thought, “I want to write a book. ”

The problem is, I’ve had that thought more than once.  I want to write a book.

But I don’t do it.  I read blogs instead.

The other time was listening to my friend Matt on the radio.  I was so happy to hear him being interviewed and I get so happy when I hear about people reading his book or listening to his Lighthouse CD.  It’s fun to know someone who is really breaking out in the speaking/writing world.

He retweeted me when he was on the air (don’t worry, it was a commercial break), and I thought, “Does that make me kind of cool? That he retweeted me while he was being interviewed on satellite radio?”

And then I thought, “I want to be on satellite radio.”

I really want to have a show, but I’d settle for being interviewed.

Looks like I need to go write a book.

9 thoughts on “Good intentions

  1. Amy says:

    Yes, yes! Go write a book! You’ve been honing your writing skills by blogging, so what are you waiting for? Plan time each week to work on it. Do you have something you want to write about? If not, can I suggest a sort of Weigel-esque bio of Pope Emeritus Benedict? (Then you’d have a good reason to meet him, too.) Weigel made me fall in love with JPII, and you made me fall in love with B16.
    Once your book is published, you’ll naturally be invited to be on satellite radio to promote it. Then all your dreams come true. 😉

    • Joannie says:

      Wow, you have higher hopes for me than I do. Wasn’t Witness to Hope George Weigel’s entire life for several years? Not sure I am looking to bite off anything that noble…

      • Amy says:

        What Kim said.
        So, maybe you don’t want to write a book that consumes your whole life (can’t blame you). But I still say you can write a book about B16 that conveys your love for him and all he did for the Church.
        Whether that’s the topic or not (I suggested it because I know how much you love the subject), you got it in you to write a book!

  2. Kim says:

    You do have all the talent, skill and charisma you need to write a book and host a radio program. You DO know this, right? Because you do, and I’m going to start telling you this every time I see you. Which I wish was more often :).

  3. I know exactly how you feel, except for me it’s the art blogs and sewing blogs that give me that feeling. Ugh, I shouldn’t be reading about someone ELSE’s creations! I should be doing it myself!!

Leave a Reply

