Falling off the wagon and climbing back on

These past few weeks have been hard on me in the blog world.  As I mentioned, I haven’t felt like posting, and it’s hard for me to write when I don’t feel like it.  It seems that I just ramble on and then wonder who the heck would want to read what I’ve just written.

Many of the blogs I read regularly have been pretty quiet, so maybe it’s going around the blogosphere, too.

But a friend of mine said that the best way to get over writer’s block is to just start writing.

Of course, ten years ago that would mean writing something and then throwing it away.  But in 2013, it means writing something and then posting it for everyone to read!  So here we go.

I just got back from a weekend of meetings in Baltimore.  I’m on a committee that meets twice a year, and our meetings are actually among the highlights of my year.  I know what you’re thinking — if meetings are highlights, I need to get a better life.  But this committee is different.  Not only is everyone passionate about the same things, they’re also a lot of fun.  The way the meetings are structured we get a lot done — more than I’ve ever imagined could ever be accomplished in three days of meetings — but we also have a lot of fun.  We don’t get a lot of sleep, but who needs sleep when there are problems to be solved during the day, friends to hang out with at night, and prayers to be prayed in the early morning?

You know it’s a great group when a bishop helps you celebrate your favorite Nascar driver’s win and then announces he needs to go up and work on his homily for the next day.

The fun times continued today when a group of us surprised my friend Molly for her birthday.  Her birthday isn’t for another week, and she was unsuspecting.  We all have a book club together, so our friend Liza had the brilliant idea that we secretly read Molly’s favorite short story and then as a present, surprise her with a discussion over drinks.  We ended up surprising her with the happy hour too, and while I had my doubts today if we were going to pull it off– we did!  I love surprising people with fun things.   I’m grateful to her husband, who helped us coordinate it all and who finally convinced her to go with me to the mall to look at shoes.  I think we both would have just enjoyed the shopping trip, too, but it was perfect to cap it off with a fantastic happy hour at the Cheesecake Factory and a discussion of Tolstoy’s Master and Man.  (A great short story, albeit very snowy.)

Of course, I forgot to take any pictures.

Because this blog post is already rather random, I leave you with a random pictures from Baltimore.

IMG_5203The Inner Harbor

IMG_5223Lunch!

IMG_5224Ray Lewis

Told you they were random.

2 thoughts on “Falling off the wagon and climbing back on

  1. Scanning several blogs, your crab cake drew me in. But yes, non-blogging must have been in the air. I usually blog every three days but took about three weeks to post a new one this time, I think.

Leave a Reply

