Seeing the face of Christ

Pope-Francis-in-Rio-jpgPope Francis is in Brazil. I like stating really obvious facts on my blog.  I suppose it might not be obvious to everyone. Perhaps the world is still talking about George Zimmerman.  Did you hear that William and Kate named their baby after him?

Anyway, I hope everyone has been able to follow the Holy Father’s trip to Brazil, and if you haven’t, he still has a few days left, so get tuned in.  I highly recommend www.wydcentral.org and www.saltandlighttv.org.

While I’ve never had a desire to go to a World Youth Day, that doesn’t stop me from living vicariously through everyone in the comfort of my own dry home.   Technology has made it easy to do so, with constant twitter updates and live-streaming (as long as your place of employment doesn’t prohibit live-streaming, and if it does, well, thank you unlimited data cell phone plans.)

None of that is really the point of this post, so let’s move on.  We’ve established that the Pope is in Brazil and we’ve established that I’m addicted to following Papal coverage, whether it’s conclaves or trips.

I saw the picture above when I was following coverage, and it really struck me.  My first thought was, “Does Pope Francis recognize someone in the crowd?!”

Doesn’t it look like he just saw his third-grade teacher?  Or maybe the guy that used to sell him the newspaper every morning?

The joy of recognition is written clearly across his face.

And then I realized that the Holy Father does recognize the people in front of him. He recognizes in them the face of Christ.

And because of that, we see Christ in him.

“Stay with me, and then I shall begin to shine as you shine:  so to shine as to be a light to others. The light, O Jesus, will be all from you. None of it will be mine. No merit to me. It will be you who shines through me upon others…. Make me preach you without preaching – not by words, but by my example and by the catching force, the sympathetic influence, of what I do – by my visible resemblance to your saints, and the evident fulness of the love which my heart bears to you.” Bl. John Henry Newman

CrowdsforPeter“… that as Peter came by at least his shadow might fall on some of them.” Acts 5:14-15

(hat tip to Father Rosica for that caption)

2 thoughts on “Seeing the face of Christ

Leave a Reply

