Checking in

How was everyone’s 4th of July weekend?  I felt a little cheated because it rained and rained and rained, which meant no sitting by the pool and getting Vitamin D.

Since I knew it was going to rain all weekend, I decided to paint my bedroom.  I have apparently been bitten by a painting bug and need to have every room in my house a color other than boring white.  Earlier in the week I picked out a color, painted large white foam boards, and hung the huge paint chips on the wall, watching them during sunrise, sunset, night. By Friday I was good to go.

I was going to post a picture of the color, but the color swatch on my computer screen it looks nothing like the color on my walls, so I’m not going to bother. You can see it in the picture below – it’s Van Courtland Blue and I love it.

My bedroom is a teeny bit bigger than the bathroom I painted (heh heh heh) so it was kind of a big project.  But I didn’t prime, I only did one coat, and I didn’t repaint the trim like I probably should have… so it only took me about a day and a half.

I love it.

I was so happy with the green bathroom that I liked to just walk in there and be.  It’s a lot less strange to do that in your bedroom.

It helps that I have the greatest bedroom ever.  Pictures don’t really do the room justice, but I’m posting one below anyway.  I love it so much. And the paint made it so homey.

IMG_4718

In the middle of the project, I wanted to pick up some painters tape and new switchplates.  So I had a bit of a dilemma.  Should I run down the street to my neighborhood Ace Hardware (where I get all my paint and supplies), which is staffed by very helpful and handsome men?  I was messy, sweaty, had paint all over, hair pulled up…  So I ran to Lowe’s instead.

Not one but two friends pointed out that I probably should have gone to Ace.  Maybe those handsome men would have found my messy hair and lack of makeup and paint splattered hands attractive?

What do you think?

Before I started painting, I hosted a 4th of July party.  With my awesome bedroom that happens to have a beautiful city view, I’ve been dreaming of the 4th of July since first laying eyes on the place.  

The weather didn’t cooperate with my dreams.  We saw fireworks throughout the valley for about a half an hour, but then the fog rolled in.  By the time the downtown fireworks started, you could barely see ten feet out the window.  *sigh*  It was still a fun party.

The last few days I’ve been very productive.  Tonight I exercised, did five loads of laundry including making two beds, and made dinner for the second night in a row.

Two nights in a row!  I know, all of you wives and mothers are probably thinking, “I do that every day. Big deal.”  But seriously, if you didn’t have to make dinner, wouldn’t you be tempted to eat cereal for dinner?  Or if you weren’t accountable for your actions, wouldn’t you eat chips and salsa and beer for dinner?  Not that I did that on Saturday…

Don’t worry- there are better posts to come.  I’m just getting back into the swing of things here.

4 thoughts on “Checking in

  1. Amy says:

    Can’t wait to see the beautiful new paint colors in person! And congrats on making dinner 2 nights in a row. I totally get it.

Leave a Reply

