Feasting for Peter and Paul

This is one of my favorite feasts of the Church.  The glorious Solemnity of Sts. Peter and Paul.

I had an interesting thought at Mass today.  As Peter and Paul preached against the decadence of Rome — a decadence that bears frightening resemblance to our own day – do you think their audience mocked them with their sins?  It seems that whenever the Catholic Church tries to preach the truth these days, those who don’t want to hear the truth attempt to discredit us by bringing up the sins of members of the Church.  Do you think the same thing happened to Peter and Paul?  Who are you to tell us we are sinners, when you denied Christ?  When you have the blood of Christians on your hands?

Just a thought I had.  Scandals are always with us, and they are certainly stumbling blocks for many people.  Peter and Paul should be reminders to us that the Church is greater than any of our sins because Her Founder is greater.  Keep that in mind as the storms get rougher.

If you want more deep thoughts from Joannie, be sure to read my Fortnight for Freedom meditation from last year here.

Some day I’ll celebrate this feast in Rome.  Until then, I’ll find ways to celebrate here in the States.  No palliums or papal Masses, but I still managed to have a good time.

I began celebrating last night, when I attended a Mass of thanksgiving celebrated by a wonderful priest here in the diocese.  He was ordained on the vigil of the feast last year and celebrated his year anniversary with a simple but beautiful chanted Mass at the Cathedral.  I’m pretty sure I beamed like crazy throughout the whole thing, just like I beamed during his ordination and his first Mass.   Plus there was the added bonus of hearing that awesome story from Acts when Peter tells the cripple,

      “I have no silver and gold, but I give you what I have; in the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.”

How often do I pray for something very worldly when God is waiting to give me something so much greater?  Another thing to keep in mind as the storms get rougher.

Then I went to the symphony with friends to hear Tchaikovsky — his Danse Cosaque from Mazeppa, his Serenade for Strings, his Capriccio Italien, and of course, the 1812 Overture.   It was fun to hear familiar friends, like Capriccio Italien, but also to gain a new appreciation for him through the Serenade for Strings, which I think I had only heard snippets of previously.

IMG_4656

 

The cannons were just a recording.  Slightly disappointing.  But at least they had the volume loud enough so that we could feel them in our chests.  And the bells were beautiful.

After the symphony we walked over to The Southern to get drinks and ended up getting delicious but very small and expensive appetizers.  I got crab cakes that were wonderful but about the size of silver dollars.

IMG_4679

My friend Larry (Larry, can I call you my friend?  I hope so.  It’s a lot easier than saying “the husband of my friend Molly,” and I’d like to be your friend) got this pasta dish that was somehow four times the size of anything the rest of us ordered.  We decided it was a strange appetizer but a delicious meal.  It was sort of a Southern spin on spaghetti carbonara — brown butter linguini topped with pine nuts, goat cheese, bacon lardons and two fried eggs.  I should have taken a picture of it before we ate it:

IMG_4682

But the crown jewel (even more than my sangria, which was delicious) was this beauty:

IMG_4681

It was as good as it looks.  The cream and those sauces were out of this world.

This morning I woke up for Mass (different readings than the Vigil for the Solemnity last night, and I want as much Peter and Paul as I can get) and treated myself to coffee at a new coffeeshop in town.  After running some errands, I had a wonderfully long FaceTime chat with my friend Lori and then headed out to hear some live music with my friend Manda.  Live music, food trucks – what more could you want on a Saturday afternoon?

IMG_4661Korean BBQ from Riff’s Fine Street Food

IMG_4666

One of the bands was called St. Paul and the Broken Bones.  I resisted the urge to find them after they played and wish them a happy feast day…

Leave a Reply

