is this crazy hereditary?

This post in the same genre as yesterday’s.  I leave you to name that genre.

This weekend Megan commented on my random wall and said she liked it.  At least I think she said she liked it.  I was happy, because I’m still not sure about it — I’m almost too pleased with it, because it really is a rather random conglomeration of things put up on my wall because they kind of look nice together.

I started with Joan of Arc:

IMG_3754

She definitely can stand alone.  She’s beautiful, she makes a statement, she can dominate a wall.  I would hang her above my fireplace alone.  But on this wall she looked a little lonely.

But what could possibly look good next to her?

I have a beautiful little gold bas-relief of St Joan that my pastor gave me when he went over to Germany.  It’s one of my favorite pieces, and I knew it would go well with the large picture.  I then began assembling other little things that seemed to match, and I eventually came up with my random wall:

IMG_3768

When Megan said she liked it, I commented on the random nature of things.

Like the random picture of John XXIII.  I don’t have a particular devotion to Bl John XXIII, but I had his picture and it fit up there.  It’s a picture from my great aunts’ house.

“There has to be a story about it.  Right?” I commented to Meg.  I don’t know who is in the picture with John XXIII.  “But maybe my aunts knew him. I like to think that. Maybe it was a friend of theirs.”

IMG_4084

“I mean, who would have a framed picture of the Pope with some random guy that they don’t actually know?” I pointed out to Megan.

She was silent for a short while.

And then she pointed out that did.

IMG_4081

Oh. Right.

So maybe that bishop with John XXIII was the Georg Ganswein of one of my great aunts.

Hm.

4 thoughts on “is this crazy hereditary?

  1. Megan says:

    Yes, in my mind that is absolutely the case. One of your aunts had a preferred papal MC or admiration for the pope’s secretary.

    And I believe the genre could be a sub category of the “details and stories that may seem strange to record now but we will be so glad to have them a few years from now”. Cue the livejournal archive reading. And I can’t get Calendar Girl out of my head.

    • joanallegretti says:

      The genre I was thinking of was “thank goodness Megan is around to point out the obvious things I miss.”

      • Megan says:

        Fair enough. I might have named it deadpan moments or something like that. And yes I definitely did like that arrangement. I even took a picture of it and am using it as inspiration to rearrange and group some of the art I have around here.

Leave a Reply

