Happy Birthday, Pope Benedict!

I know, Pope Emertius.  But it still sounds weird to me.  And you all know I know he’s not Pope anymore.

Today is Pope Benedict’s 86th birthday!  So my friend Loretta and I went to eat German food to celebrate.  We toasted him with German beer.

IMG_3774
And we ate schnitzel and spaetzle.

IMG_3778

We tried the newest German/Austrian restaurant in town, Viener Fest, and frankly, I wasn’t overly impressed.  The food there was better than the other German restaurant in town, but it wasn’t as good as the Rathskellar in Indianapolis and not nearly as good as Cantina Tirolese in Rome.  The atmosphere was so-so and our waitress wasn’t superb.  But if I ever have a hankering for schnitzel, I’ll be back.  All in all, it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I imagined when I looked at their menu.

I do love spaetzle, though, so it was a nice way to celebrate his birthday.  I wonder if he and Archbishop Ganswein had spaetzle tonight? Or a nice beer?  Or maybe just some Fanta.

Or maybe they just watched the evening news.

IMG_3222

I love, love, love this picture.

And then I went to teach my bible study, where I asked the 60 people present to pray for him.  So that was probably better than toasting him with beer.

IMG_3779

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Pope Benedict!

  1. Fr. Tim says:

    Joannie! I’m surprised there was no mention of apfel strudel! Perfect way to end a celebration (and so buttery!)!

    • joanallegretti says:

      haha! That’s exactly what we had for dessert, but I forgot to take a picture of it. There wasn’t enough apfel in it, but it was still a nice finish!

  2. I thought of you as soon as I read it was his birthday yesterday. I’m glad you’re awesome and went out to dinner to celebrate the Pope’s birthday.
    We’ll have to have a Pope themed party some time…. you know how I love theme parties!

Leave a Reply

