Papabile of the Day

I thought it would be fun to do a series on Cardinals who may be changing their name come the middle of March.  When I was living over there in 2005 I studied the Cardinals pretty diligently, trying to figure out who had the makings of our next Pope.  L’Osservatore Romano had an issue with pictures and short bios of all the cardinal electors, and we spent our time in St. Peter’s Square waiting for smoke, glancing through the “program” of sorts to see if we could guess who might come out on the loggia in a few days or a few hours.  All our studying was pretty pointless in the end.

So here we go.  The cardinals are probably doing a little studying of their own right now.  So let’s join them.

I was going to start with Cardinal Julian Herranz Casado.  I went to a small Mass celebrated by him in Rome in 2008, and all I could think of when I heard he was celebrating Mass was that I had put a lot of “points” on him when we were betting on the election in 2005.  That was before we knew that was once grounds for excommunication.

I don’t remember all the reasons I thought he was papabile in 2005, although I was intrigued by the fact that he was in Opus Dei.  (Not for any conspiratorial reasons, but just because I think the new movements in the Church are part of Her future.)  This time around, I was intrigued by the fact that he was one of three Cardinals chosen by the Holy Father to chair the three-Cardinal commission to investigate the leaks in the Vatican.

Then I looked a little harder and realized he was over 80.  Since I have doubts that the Cardinals will elect someone not with them in the Sistine Chapel, Herranz got cut from my list.

If you want to play along, you can find the full list of cardinal electors here.

Leave a Reply

