You’ve Got Mail Moment

I had a You’ve Got Mail moment today — you know the scene when Meg Ryan is complaining that she can’t think of the perfect comeback until it’s too late?  And Tom Hanks warns her, “when you finally have the pleasure of saying the thing you mean to say at the moment you mean to say it, remorse inevitably follows.”

Well, God protected me from that remorse today.  I was standing with a student and a professor passed by and asked me why my prediction didn’t come true.  I groaned and he kind of laughed sadly and walked away.

The student asked what my prediction had been.  I knew the student was an Obama supporter, so I just kind of mumbled that I had thought Romney would win in a landslide.

He made a noise between a scoff and a laugh.  “Really? What made you say that?”

I don’t even remember exactly what I said, but I quickly made my exit.

Tonight while brushing my teeth, I replayed the scene in my head.  Only in my head, I answered, “Because I had misplaced optimism that the American people would be above voting with their carnal desires.”  Other variations through the course of the evening included, “…wouldn’t re-elect someone who’s bad at their job,” and “…wouldn’t vote for someone who was intent on disassembling the Constitution.”

But I think the real winner is, “Because I thought the American people were smarter than that.”

Alas, none of that came.

And maybe it’s for the best.

4 thoughts on “You’ve Got Mail Moment

  1. Jill says:

    Yeah, I was thinking the same things – we definitely overestimated the American people. But as a wise man said, why wouldn’t you re-elect Santa Claus?

  2. Amy says:

    Thanks for sharing those perfect responses with us. And we probably appreciate them far more than the original conversationalist.
    I am stunned by the results. I thought, based on the polls, that it would be close and could go either way. The final result blows me away. Leaves me with lots of questions about where we go from here…

  3. The girls and I hung out with Marc and Misty yesterday and he shed a light on the whole situation (not a good light) that I had never thought of and I wanted to know what you think. And these numbers are as I remember them so they are probably off by 1% or 2. When Obama took office there were 32% of Americans on government aid, now there is something like 44% (again with the numbers…) so in 4 more years near 62% of Americans will be on Government aid. So when the election rolls around and it’s time to vote there’s no way that 62% is going to vote in a way that will take away ‘their’ money, thus pretty much doing away with the Republican party. Thoughts??

Leave a Reply

