These boots are made for walkin’

There’s a place on Broadway (the main strip with all the honky tonks) that sells cowboy boots with the deal “Buy one get two free.”  I’ve known a few different groups to take advantage of the deal, but I’ve never gotten around to finding two friends and heading down there myself.

But my friend Maria and I decided this was the year, and luckily our friend Michele had always wanted to get a pair, too.  So we coordinated our schedules and headed down there after work on Friday.

There are so many to choose from, you’d think it would be easy to find a pair- but besides the way they look, you need to find one that’s comfortable, fits your foot well, fits your calves well, has the toe you want, and has the heel you want.  So it was a bit harder than I thought it would be.  I found ones I sort of liked, but they had a heel and they were kind of making my feet hurt. They were also fairly loose around my calves — my feet would get wet if it rained.   Just when I was wondering if I would ruin the girls’ day by announcing I wasn’t buying boots, Michele found ones I liked, but they were 7s – so I asked one of the guys that worked there if they had then in 9s.  He disappeared for a very long time, and just when I was giving up home, he emerged and announced “8s!”  As soon as the words left his lips, he said, “You needed 9s, didn’t you?” and put them down on the ground, turned around and disappeared into the back again.  It was like something out of a movie.

He finally did come out with 9s, and I ended up really liking them.  They’re still a bit big around my calves, but I’m resigned to the fact that I’ll never find boots outside of Italy that actually fit my calves.

(We got to wear jeans to work on Friday (for a donation to a charity) and Maria and I forgot to bring skirts to change into for our boot-trying-on.  Doh! So don’t pay attention to our weird pant legs.)

All in all, yet another good Nashville experience.  Now I just need the guts to wear them somewhere!

3 thoughts on “These boots are made for walkin’

  1. Amy says:

    I love ’em! I’m picky about my boots too, so I feel your pain. Plus you’ve pointed out the calf issue before, & that complicates things. But what a great deal for great boots! I’m SURE you can find somewhere to wear them. Didn’t you say in an earlier post that all you do is eat and listen to music? 🙂

Leave a Reply

