Shrewdness

I approach this post with fear and trembling, mostly because I’m afraid of the combox tomorrow.  But I’ve been thinking this morning about my friends who are set on voting third party, and I just wanted to share a thought — not to change anyone’s mind, because I know I won’t do that – but just to share it.

One of my friends after Mass asked me if I had any information on Catholic Social Teaching he could use for a group of men that are getting together to learn CST.  I said I had a few articles I could pass along to him that might help as they went through the Compendium.  Then he dropped the bomb – that he wanted to clear up the idea in these guys’ mind that a vote for Romney-Ryan was the Catholic thing to do.

I told him I didn’t want to share any materials with him anymore.

haha.  kidding, of course.  Well, I did say that.  But I was kidding.

I believe he thought to ask me because our sermon today was a fantastic one about why we can’t vote for a political party whose platform supports the death of children.  It was an amazingly moving sermon.

I know this particular friend is not going to vote for Obama, so I’m assuming he’s voting third party.  I told him I disagreed with him and was going to vote for Romney.

He said there was no prolife option.

I could go on about that (we went our separate ways then, because he had to go teach CCD, but we promised to talk soon), and how as Catholics we are allowed to vote on the pro life issue incrementally (a Catholic can vote for a bill that restricts abortions in certain cases, not because they approve of abortion in the other cases, but because they want to work towards restricting it completely) and I think any candidate that replaces abortion-hungry Obama is a pro-life option.

But that’s not why I came here to blog.  I came here because I was reflecting on Luke 16:1-12.  It’s that funny parable where Jesus seems to be praising the dishonest steward who knew he was getting sacked and worked behind his master’s back to make friends who would take care of him after he lost his job.  Why the heck is Jesus praising him? He tells us:

“the sons of this world are more shrewd in dealing with their own generation than the sons of light.”

I think Jesus is saying that we need to be more shrewd.  The people of the world know what they want and know how to get it.  And they’re clever in getting it.  We aren’t so clever, and we get taken advantage of a lot.

Jesus also said, “I am sending you out as sheep in the midst of wolves; so be wise as serpents and innocent as doves.” (Mt 10:16)  So translations have “sly as serpents” and others have “shrewd.”   My constitutional law professor always joked that he’d work on the latter half when he perfected the former.

So that brings me to the idea of voting third party.  Yes, Romney is not the perfect candidate.  He has flaws.  But since the race is between two men, Obama and Romney, I’m voting, praying, and campaigning for the better of the two candidates.  Why?  Because I think it’s naive to vote third-party.  Is Obama the perfect candidate in a lot of Democrats’ minds?  No.  Will that stop most of them from voting for him?  No.  And so they win, and their intrinsically evil platform  is advanced.

It’s time to be as shrewd as the people of this world.

(A big thank you to priests like Bishop Paprocki  and my friend Father O’Neill who are willing to preach the truth from the pulpit.)

UPDATE: I realize that the far bigger problem is that Obama is still winning the Catholic vote, even when surveying Catholics who attending weekly Mass.  This is a far bigger issue and most deserving of my time and prayer than those Catholics voting third-party.  Which is why I’m not going to waste any more brain power on this issue.   At least until I meet the next friend… hahaha!

3 thoughts on “Shrewdness

  1. Amy says:

    It’s crystal clear to me that a vote for anyone but Romney has the effect of being a vote for Obama. I don’t quite understand how people can’t see that. So many third party voters I’ve talked to think that if people truly voted their consciences, the third party would win. I just don’t see the anecdotal or statistical evidence to bear this out.

Leave a Reply

