Cheers

Tonight was the first official Theology on Tap in our diocese in awhile.  In fact, if you consider “official” to mean we are paying members of the organization Theology on Tap, this might have been the first ever official gathering.

My dear friend Lori helped me make it all happen – to be honest, she did the work, I just did the dreaming.  She found the speakers, the place, made the poster… yeah, I can’t take credit for any of it, really.

I knew we had advertised well, but I was still thinking we would only have ten to fifteen people.  Start small, right?  Once people came and fell in love with the pub and saw how much fun it was, they would bring their friends.  Maybe in April or May we could work up to fifty or so.

Or… maybe we could start with sixty.  I didn’t do an official count, but there were at least sixty people there, if not more.  I was overwhelmed.  The owners (an awesome couple- I couldn’t be happier about supporting their pub) kept bringing up chairs and tables, people were standing, we were taking over even the bar area– and they just kept coming.

It was a great night.  We had a married couple come speak to us about marriage, and I think it was a success.  When I got into a discussion with one of the managers at the bar about his divorce, his Catholic faith, and the Pill– I was no longer in doubt that God had a plan for tonight.  And that plan included Theology on Tap packing the top floor of McNamara’s Irish Pub to listen to a talk about contraception.

Cheers to that!

3 thoughts on “Cheers

Leave a Reply

