happy things

Fall is here, at least for a little while.  I’m sure we have a few more 90 degree days left before November, but there’s definitely a Fall chill in the air today.

So my first happy thing:

I’m not sure you can tell what that is … for those who can’t, it’s my porch door.  OPEN!  So my apartment is getting nice and chilly.  I heart Fall so much.

The next happy thing is that I bought a Leaves candle AND a Leaves plug-in air freshener from Bath and Body Works a few weeks ago (I had to buy it before they sold out!) and I somehow managed to hold off using them until yesterday.  So now my apartment smells wonderfully Fall.  (If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you’ll know I have a little love affair each fall with the Leaves candle from Bath and Body Works.  Once I even went to a B&BW three hours from here (I was on my way to VA- I’m not that crazy…) because the stores here were sold out of them.)

The last happy thing is this quote from the Holy Father, with which I’m going to leave you.  It’s happy because:
1) sometimes I get really caught up about how depressing our world is.  We’re not living in a pretty time, folks, and what makes it more depressing is that many people are apathetic and/or clueless.  This quote makes me feel better.
2) I love the Pope.  And I’m going to be in his city in 26 days!

Dear friends, may no adversity paralyze you.
Be afraid neither of the world, nor of the future, nor of your weakness.
The Lord has allowed you to live in this moment of history so that, by your faith,
His name will continue to resound throughout the world.
-Pope Benedict, World Youth Day Prayer Vigil
20 August 2011

3 thoughts on “happy things

  1. Amy says:

    Aww…I heart Fall too! Wacky weather here, of course, & Old Man Winter will be here before we know it or are ready for it, but those crisp fall days are just the best.
    God bless your preparations for your pilgrimage to the Eternal City!

  2. Jill says:

    Can you get me a Leaves candle? Pretty please?? I’ll pay you back! I don’t have a BBW nearby. There used to be one in town when we first moved here but they went out of business. 😦

    • joanallegretti says:

      Yes! They’re having a sale today — I wish I would have seen this before I went over there. I’ll go over and pick one up this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

