A Landmark

A few months ago I paid my first visit to Bobbie’s Dairy Dip.  It had been on my list of places to visit since I moved here four years ago, and it was rather embarrassing that I hadn’t made it there, given that it’s not that far from where I spend most of my time.  My sister read about it on a blog and I think she was rather shocked that I had never been there.

So my friends Liza and Paul  remedied the situation and we went there for dinner one night.

It’s exactly what a drive-in should be.  Except that you couldn’t drive in.  Is that a necessity for a drive-in?  Hm.

Nothing particularly fancy, just good burgers and soft serve.  At least that’s what I chose to eat:

(Sorry for the lack of focus in these pictures.  I was using my phone.)

Pure Americana.  Does it get any better than this?

Sure- how about some soft serve dipped in chocolate?

Or, if you have a hankering for something different… how about dipped in peanut butter?

It was pretty delicious.

(But no, I didn’t get cast in a Taylor Swift music video while I was there.)

Growing up we had a place back home called Budgie’s (also called a drive-in even though you couldn’t actually drive-in.  I sense a pattern here?), and Bobbie’s reminded me a lot of that.   Don’t go here if you want some gourmet hamburger or some fancy-pants gelato.  But if you want a true American experience, straight out of Happy Days?  This is your place.

2 thoughts on “A Landmark

    • joanallegretti says:

      You just need to come back!

      I should have suggested it for lunch. Was it hot out or something? I just never think of it!

Leave a Reply

