Hello, August

How the heck is it August?

I was going to post about my crazy trip home a few weekends ago, when a 5 hour trip turned into an 8 hour trip because of a fatal accident in Kentucky and a road closure (the closure of a road that happened to be the road I was driving sitting on at the time).  But no one wants to see pictures of a long line of traffic and people standing around on tarmac in 99 degree heat with news helicopters circling overhead.

It was not a fun ride home.  Luckily, the wedding was fun, even if it was about four times hotter than that stretch of asphalt with overheating cars had been the night before.

Now it’s back to the routine — work during the day, a bit of social life in the evenings, and lots of still-unpacked boxes from the move.  I’m to the point in unpacking where I have everything I need on a daily basis unpacked, and the things I need occasionally are usually found in a box somewhere within five or ten minutes of searching.  It’s a dangerous place to be, so it’s a good thing I’m hosting book club next week or else I might never finish unpacking.

The other news to report is that I’m not entering the Nashville Dominicans next week, contrary to the picture on the front page of the Arlington Diocese’s newspaper.

There’s nothing like a picture of you laughing with some Sisters with the headline, “So you want to be a nun?”

Matrimonial hopes dashed.

Now, don’t get me wrong– I love the Sisters, I love working for the Sisters, and some of my best friends down here are Sisters.  (The two Sisters I’m laughing with in the picture, actually.)  But the picture might be taken out of context when my friends out in Virginia pull their mail out of the mailboxes this week.  So I just wanted to clarify that.

When I called my sister to make sure I had understood her correctly — I’m on the front page?  The front page of the print edition? (we had already laughed about me being on the front page of the website for a few days)  She called to my nephews, “Who was on the front page of the newspaper today?”  And I heard a chorus of little voices: “Joannie!”

Ah, life is never boring.

2 thoughts on “Hello, August

  1. Amy says:

    I just HAVE to laugh out loud at your 15 (extended) minutes of fame! Wow, girl. Think you can ask for damages in the amount of a date with three marriageable guys?

    I’m in the same place as you with unpacking. I’ve got a friend coming Saturday for 3 days to help me finish the job. Meanwhile, I’m desperately trying to get syllabi done…and I feel like I’m running on a treadmill, working as hard as I can but getting nowhere!

    Good luck! Please keep me in your prayers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

