Friends

Okay, so I said I wouldn’t be posting for awhile.  But it seems that after you’ve packed your apartment, moved in 95 degree weather, and now find yourself sitting in a new living room surrounded by boxes, the last thing you want to do is unpack.  And I’m too tired to do much of anything, so I’ll sit here and blog.

I have the best friends.  I guess everyone thinks that.  But I look at my friends and realize they’re a step beyond the usual “friend” — friends willing to go out and get a drink, friends that are full of advice when you need it, stuff like that.

My friends are the type that will make you dinner and bring it to your apartment while you’re attempting to pack, and then proceed to pack your entire kitchen for you.   They’re the type that will take you to the airport at 4 in the morning.  They’re the type that will get a moving truck for you and bring a friend and move you in 95 degree heat.  They’re incredible.

Sometimes I don’t know how to respond to friendship.  When I got off the phone just now with one of my “movers,” who was calling to say he’d come over again this weekend and help me with things if I needed anything, I almost burst into tears.  I’m so moved when I stop and think about the amazing people God has put in my life.

I went to a friend’s wedding back in May, and it was a good opportunity to stop and thank God for the friends He has given me.  The friend that got married was my roommate our freshman year in college.  Here we were, two girls who didn’t know each other, thrown together during one of the hardest transitions of life.  For the next nine months, we lived in the same tiny room in the midst of huge life lessons.   That was almost ten years ago, which is hard to believe.

How do you thank people who have made such a difference in your life?  Or who so selfishly give of their time to help you when you need it most?  The friend you’ve only really known for a few months, who offers to help you move, even though you had never dreamed of imposing upon him?  And then after he helps you move, he goes to the hardware store for you to buy a steel rod for your door to make sure the sliding door is secure?  All without being asked?  

As I was writing this, I was interrupted by a phone call from another friend, who invited me to come over to her place for dinner!  Proving, once again, that I have the best friends in the world.

And now I’m going to bed.  Unpacking can start tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Your post reminds me of my single days in Columbus, Ohio. I was blessed then with friends who did so much for each other and never asked for anything in return. I even had friends take time off of work to help me move to Lafayette after Joshua and I got engaged. I am still blessed to still count most of those people as friends today!

    I smiled at the airport runs too. I don’t think I ever had a four in the morning airport run, but I know I was picked up or picked someone up many times in the late evening hours.

    We are going to Ohio for a wedding next month and I will get to visit most of those friends and I very much look forward to reminiscing about those days! I think you have given me an idea for a post, thank you!

  2. dad says:

    I’m glad you got safely moved and I thank your friends for their help. I’m also relieved you didn’t stay away long from the blog

  3. Anne says:

    I’m so glad you find yourself with such great friends each place God takes you!! I know what you mean about being unable to thank them enough. I feel like that often, too.

Leave a Reply

