espresso, anyone?

One of department chairs at work mentioned that his favorite ice cream was Häagen-Dazs coffee.  This wasn’t earth-shattering, given his love of coffee.  (he’s the one that taught me how to make a pot of drip coffee.  When I was 26 years old.  True story.)

So last weekend I began researching coffee ice cream recipes.   Most of them called for instant coffee, which I didn’t have, so I began searching for espresso ice cream recipes.  The only coffee I had in my apartment was espresso for my Moka pot, so I knew I had to craft my recipe around that.

The recipe I found was a gelato recipe, calling for a 2 parts milk to 1 part cream.  It also called for eggs, and it also made more than a quart and a half (my ice cream maker’s max).

So I set about tweaking the recipe to make what I could.

These were the stars of the recipe:

I decided on a whim to mix in chocolate.  It was my first attempt at a “mix-in,” and I figured you can’t go wrong with good dark chocolate.

My machine didn’t seem crazy about the mix-in (you add it in the last five minutes of mixing), but I’d do it again.  I don’t think I will get such good chocolate next time because the chocolate ends up being so cold, you can’t really taste if it’s good quality or not.  In fact, I was debating whether I should have put it in at all, but everyone said it was good, and my friend Liza said it added a nice texture.

Someday, I’ll learn the secret to Graeter’s chips.  Their chocolate pieces are perfect — not hard, sort of soft and malleable.  It completely “makes” the ice cream.  Mmm, strawberry chip ice cream at Graeters… Yummy…

Anyway, the ice cream got thumbs up all around at work.

I asked for constructive criticism since it was the first recipe I’ve just made up.  But they didn’t have much, mostly because they didn’t have any criticism. My thoughts:

  •  I think I would play around with the milk-cream ratio to see if less cream would bring out the coffee flavor more.  A heavy cream content, I think, tends to coat the tongue, and I wonder if that masked the coffee a bit.
  • Maybe the use of espresso instead of instant coffee diluted the coffee taste, too.  I don’t like Starbucks coffee, but I was thinking their VIA instant might be the best bet in that regard.
  • I’m still debating the use of chips.

Those are my thoughts.

I’m up for suggestions… what should my next adventure be?

4 thoughts on “espresso, anyone?

    • joanallegretti says:

      I love peanut butter and chocolate. And you can’t go wrong with that flavor combination!!
      Raspberry chocolate… that sounds absolutely lovely! Both of those are going on my list!

    • joanallegretti says:

      I have a Cusinart. http://www.cuisinart.com.au/prodView.asp?idproduct=450
      Most of these recipes could be made with any ice cream maker; I like mine because it makes ice cream really quickly with little to no work on my part. It has a bowl that you put in the freezer (at least overnight, if not longer) and it gets really cold, and then you pour your base in (which is also cold– you put it in the fridge for a few hours or overnight), and then you plug it in and flip the switch and it churns it into ice cream in about 20 minutes! It’s pretty magical.

Leave a Reply

