summer fun

Blogging has been slow lately, but not because I’ve been lacking in subject matter.  Two vacations and two weddings in the past three weeks have given me plenty of pictures and topics, but have left me feeling daunted.  How do I begin to put my thoughts down?

So perhaps there will be posts to come, although I gave that promise with John Paul’s beatification too and never made good on it.

Until I can muster up the brain power to comment intellectually on the thoughts in my head after three great weeks, I will mindlessly post pictures from this afternoon.

When am I willing to spend $5 on a cup of flavored ice?

I must be at a festival in 95 degree heat!

It was a good cup of ice.

Today a group of my friends and I went to the CMA Festival.  Yes, that’s right, I went to a country music festival.

…It was free.

It wasn’t nearly as crowded as I thought it would be.  We surmised that it’s possible a lot of people don’t realize the afternoon shows are free.  There are shows every night in the football stadium as well.  But they cost money… and the ones on the Riverfront stage (which is one of my favorite concert venues) are free.  Of course, you see a bunch of people that you’ve never heard of before (of course, that’s not hard for me…), but it’s still a good time.

A “cultural experience,” as my friend Maria put it.

We heard Corey Smith, whoever that is.  I wasn’t impressed at all.  He sang about beer and sex the whole time.

Luckily, the next person on stage was beautiful ChuckWicks, who would be in the archives of this blog if it had existed last summer.  I had friends in town for the 4th of July and we saw a free ChuckWicks concert on the Riverfront stage (so today was a little deja vu).  I wasn’t expecting to see him today, but it was a nice surprise after having to listen to Corey Smith.

 

Then we heard David Nail, another guy I had never heard of before.

Let’s face it- I’ve only heard of ChuckWicks (you must say his name like that, because it sounds like he’s a brand of air freshener and it makes me laugh every time) because he was on Dancing with the Stars.

It was hot.  It was free.  My friends are fun.  It was a good afternoon.

The end.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “summer fun

  1. Anne says:

    I’ve never heard of any of those guys either but glad you had fun! I’m hoping to get my crew to some live music this summer. The nearest park has free outdoor concerts every Tuesday evening. I have no idea what kind of talent will be there but it’s usually hard to beat live music and it’s family friendly so no beer or sex!

Leave a Reply

