reflections on reflections

I am sitting here drinking coffee and eating my breakfast, in an attempt to remain awake for a few more hours- at least through morning Mass.  My sleep schedule is so thrown off that it’s hard to believe it’s only 6:43am.  I’ve been up for almost 5 1/2 hours.

I went to bed yesterday afternoon at 6 so that I would be refreshed enough to take in the beatification with all my sense faculties.  I drove over to my friend Maria’s house, where we watched it together in the wee hours of the morning.

I contemplated “live blogging” through the event, knowing that no one would be reading it as I wrote, but just for the sake of capturing my thoughts during the historic Mass.  I decided against it, preferring to reflect on it at a later moment when I have had time for it to sink in.  In this era of instant communication, there’s a desire to express oneself immediately, to share thoughts as they come so as to live the moment together, in a way.

But in sharing thoughts as they come, we often sacrifice sharing insights and reflections.  Experiencing a moment, ruminating on it, and expressing one’s thoughts afterwards is too slow, too tardy for audiences who have gone on to the next event.

So as I sit here and drink my Dunkin’ Donuts coffee, wishing it was espresso from Sant’Eustachio, I put off blogging about the glorious events of this morning for another day – at the risk of being outdated, but in the hopes of being worthwhile.

Since I didn’t live-blog, you are saved from comments such as, “Why won’t they tell us the identity of that bald man they keep showing?” (the president of Italy) or vents like “Why did EWTN stop coverage so soon?” (I turned to YouTube and was able to watch the Holy Father go into the Basilica to pray in front of the casket.)

U-Mark, let’s compare notes — I counted three appearances of Msgr. Ganswein, although I was distracted at the start of the homily (or maybe it was the end) and so I didn’t see if he delivered the homily to the Holy Father or took it back at the end.  He was visible at the entrance procession in the PopeMobile, at the Regina Coeli, and at the end when they went into the Basilica.

I do think some network should hire me to do commentary, however, because all morning I would make comments just before the commentators would or I would answer their questions.  But I’ve been saying that for awhile now. My acquaintance Mary will be doing the commentary tomorrow for the Mass of Thanksgiving, thank goodness.

Blessed John Paul II, pray for us!

2 thoughts on “reflections on reflections

  1. Uncle Mark says:

    Cudos to you, I saw MG in the pope mobile but soon became frustrated with the rediculous commentary Raymond was providing that I tuned into Vatican Radio’s Live webcast. While the video was not as good as EWTN, they have a respect for the moment and refrain from commenting during sublime moments in the Liturgy. I did try to perform an act of mercy (this being Divine Mercy Sunday) and give Raymond a second chance, but when I heard him open his mike as the Holy Father began reading the declaration of beatification – I went back to Vatican radio and stayed there. So I missed some of the MG camera shots – but I’m sure there was at least one you missed.

    • joanallegretti says:

      Yes, it was painful at times. YouTube had nice coverage from CTV — very clear.

      You think I missed one!? I was on my toes this time!

Leave a Reply

