O, My People!

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you?  Testify against me!

I led you out of Egypt from slavery to freedom, but you have led your Savior, and nailed Him to a cross.

Hagios OTheos, Hagios ichyros,
Hagios athanatos eleison himas.
Holy is God, Holy and Strong,
Holy Immortal One , have mercy on us.

For forty years in safety, I led you through the desert, I fed you with my manna, I gave you your own land, but you have led your Savior, and nailed Him to a Cross.

Hagios O Theos, Hagios ichyros,
Hagios athanatos eleison himas.
Holy is God, Holy and Strong,
Holy Immortal One , have mercy on us.

O what more would you ask from me? I planted you, my vineyard, but sour grapes you gave me, and vinegar to drink, and you have pierced your Savior and pierced Him with a spear.

Hagios OTheos, Hagios ichyros,
Hagios athanatos eleison himas.
Holy is God, Holy and Strong,
Holy Immortal One , have mercy on us.

For you scourged your captors, their first born sons were taken, but you have taken scourges and brought them down on Me.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

From slavery to freedom I led you, drowned your captors. But I am taken captive and handed to your priests.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

Your path lay through the waters, I opened them before you, my side you have laid open and bared it with a spear.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

I led you, held securely, My fire and cloud before you, but you have led your Savior, hands bound to Pilate’s court.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

I bore you up with manna, you bore me down and scourged me. I gave you saving water, but you gave me soured wine.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

The kings who reigned in Canaan, I struck way before you. But you have struck my crowned head, and struck it with a reed.

O My people, what have I done to you, how have I offended you? Answer me.

I gave you a royal scepter but you gave me a thorn crown.  I raised you up in power, but you raised me on the Cross.

Agios o Theos, Agios ischyros,
Agios athanatos eleison imas.
Holy is God, Holy and Strong,
Holy Immortal One, have mercy on us.

Leave a Reply

