starting the Triduum off right

I just got back from choir practice, where we practiced for the entire Triduum.  It’s an understatement to say my home parish has one of the best home-grown, non-professional choirs in the country.  I am always amazed at the sound the comes from the choir loft.

And while we generally sing the same songs every Triduum, it doesn’t matter because they’re just so beautiful.  The only sadness this year is that we aren’t singing Durufle’s Ubi Caritas this year (so go listen to it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwR_dM-1MlU).

As a sneak preview for tomorrow’s liturgy:

The opening song is Firmly I Believe and Truly (tune: Nashotah House)  This is an amazing, amazing hymn.  I wish I could find a recording of it online — it never fails to give me chills.  The tune is Anglican, but the words are from Bl. John Henry Newman.  [Liza, you can have the tune -we got the composer : )]  Here are the words:

1. Firmly I believe and truly
God is three, and God is One;
And I next acknowledge duly
Manhood taken by the Son.

Refrain: Sanctus fortis, Sanctus Deus,
de profundis oro te,
Miserere, judex meus,
parce mihi Domine.

2. And I trust and hope most fully
In that Manhood crucified;
And each thought and deed unruly
Do to death, as He has died.

3. Simply to His grace and wholly
Light and life and strength belong,
And I love, supremely, solely,
Him the holy, Him the strong.

4. And I hold in veneration,
For the love of Him alone,
Holy Church, as His creation,
And her teachings as His own.

5. Adoration ay be given,
With and through the angelic host,
To the God of earth and heaven,
Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

The entire Mass will be chanted.  At the Washing of the Feet, we’ll chant Ubi Caritas (if we can’t do Durufle, at least we’re chanting it)

Followed by one of my all-time favorites, If Ye Love Me by Thomas Tallis:

(please don’t be distracted by the scene from Fantasia)

Offertory is The Lord is About to Enter His Temple, a gorgeous piece by a Dominican priest, Andre Gouzes.  Once again, I’m sorry I can’t find it online.  (I wish I could record tomorrow night…)

Communion: Christus Factus Est (chant — although some day I want to learn Anerio’s motet)

And Jesu Dulcis Memoria — the chant, followed by de Victoria’s arrangement.

We’ll end, after the Pange Lingua and the Eucharistic Procession, with two songs we have sung for as long as I remember: Stay Here and Keep Watch and Stay With Us.   Jesus remains at the altar of repose until midnight.

I love Holy Thursday.  And I love it at my home parish.  Besides Rome, there’s no place I’d rather be tomorrow night.

3 thoughts on “starting the Triduum off right

  1. Anne says:

    Gee. I am already trying to offer up the fact that I can’t be there!!! Thanks for making it that much harder!!! 😉 Hmmm…maybe I can figure out some way…

  2. Nick says:

    Thanks for this post. In some strange way, it makes me less homesick while still knowing that I’ll never experience such a beautiful Mass here as at St. B.

  3. Diito that. I miss St. B and Schola like crazy. Our parish here sang another version of Ubi Caritas and it made me sad a bit, just thinking of what I was missing! Thanks for your post. And happy Easter!!!

Leave a Reply

