bloggings

I have been thinking about this blog lately.  I think it started in earnest when I had a comment from someone in England (or I assume that’s where they were from) regarding The Cardinal.  While I was happy I had someone outside my circle of friends and family read the blog,  I was disappointed (horrified?) that they may have read the post from the day before, which was merely about Wendy’s fish sandwiches.

That got me wondering about this blog.

I want to be a real blogger, that people like to read for their humor and insight.  There are so many great bloggers out there whose posts are inspiring or educational.   I think they’re pretty normal people — but they have this fantastic capacity to use the English language and pinpoint issues so well.  People like Simcha Fisher or Jennifer Fulwiler.

I want to quit my day job and just blog.  (just kidding, I don’t.  Really.)

I used to only blog when I had thoughts about important things, like politics or religion.  But that blog got tiring after awhile because I felt like I only went on there to rant.

My favorite blog was my JoaninRome blog.  I felt like I actually was blogging for a purpose.  But my life now doesn’t quite lend itself to blogging like that.  To put it bluntly, my life is no longer that exciting.

So I end up blogging about Wendy’s fish sandwiches.

I think the question comes down to: do I post less frequently, but better, well-written, insightful posts?  Or do I post frequent, random, maybe-I’ll-say-something-interesting-but-probably-not posts?

I’m leaning toward the former.  We’ll see.

4 thoughts on “bloggings

  1. dad says:

    In baseball you play frequently. sometimes you hit a homerun, sometimes a single and sometimes you strikeout, ;but the opportunity is in the playing. Even a “bad” day can have its rewards. I have no idea what any of that means but I appreciate your attempts and een your sandwich critiques.

  2. Jill says:

    i agree with dad. the posts don’t always have to be insightful. think about Pioneer Woman- most of her posts are just silly but she wins all these blog awards.

    i mean, it’s your blog – you can make it what you want it. but i think your readers will appreciate anything you post because it’s you posting.

  3. Maria says:

    I agree with everyone else! I like hearing about fish sandwiches…it’s the stuff life is made of, and your take on it…which is enjoyable to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

