fantastic read

What I Learned When My Kids Went to School

I really like Simcha Fisher.  I don’t always agree with her, but she always gives me something to think about.  This article was no different.

I don’t want to start a war on my blog about homeschool vs Catholic school vs private school vs public school vs charter school.  At the same time, I think Fisher brings up really excellent points that have been in my head for a long time. She just says it better.

Obviously, I don’t have kids and don’t have to worry about making these decisions yet.  So it’s really easy for me to voice my opinion because I don’t really have to act on that opinion.

Yes, schooling is first and foremost a parent’s responsibility. And yes, the way you choose to school your children is a personal decision.  “Every family is different,” my friends tell me.  Sure.  But at the same time, it isn’t a strictly personal decision.  Because your kids’ education doesn’t just affect you and your kids.  It affects the world.

And not just in the sense that ignorance and lack of education affects the world (although that’s a huge deal, of course. and I could write a whole rant about that).  More importantly, it could be that your kids are supposed to be light to the world, and that light should not be hidden under a bushel basket.

I’m not going to say anymore, because Fisher says it better.  So head over there and read it.  With an open mind.

One thought on “fantastic read

  1. Jill says:

    I agree – she has a good way of putting things, even though I don’t 100% agree with her (it’s more like 95%). I enjoy her style.

Leave a Reply

