my kitchen is bare!

Well, it feels that way, at least.  In the middle of making a veggie pizza tonight (for a book club get-together tomorrow night.  I’ve never made veggie pizza before.  I’ve never broiled eggplant or roasted garlic before.  And yet I’m doing it tonight, for a recipe I’m going to serve people.  Earth-shattering, I know.  I do this to myself all the time!)  I ran out of olive oil.

A kitchen without olive oil.

I feel paralyzed.  How can I cook anything, really?  I don’t think I’ve been out of olive oil since… well, since as long as I had a kitchen of my own.  And my sister-in-law gave me a huge bottle of fantastic olive oil from Christmas two years ago, and that lasted a surprisingly long time.

And now I don’t have any.

I’m pretty sure I have to turn in my apron until I can replenish.

2 thoughts on “my kitchen is bare!

  1. dad says:

    borders on sacrilege where I just came from. beautiful groves of olive trees,and remnants of olive presses everywhere.

Leave a Reply

