a memorable Valentine’s Day.

A few Valentine’s days stick out in my mind.

1) When I was in the 7th grade, my guinea pig broke its back on Valentine’s Day.  Since my parents were out of town, my sister solved the pig’s problem by putting it in our garage overnight.  It died a peaceful death, I suppose, although I didn’t think such nice thoughts about my sister’s decision at the time.  I’m not sure what else she was supposed to do — how do you help a rodent with a broken back?

2) When I was studying in Rome in 2005, most of the girls in our group went “gelateria bar hopping.”  We decided since people go pub-crawling and bar-hopping all the time, why couldn’t we go gelateria-hopping?  So we did.  I think we ended up just going to three or four.  It was such a fun night.

This nice gelateria-guy decided he wanted to be in a picture with Meg and I.  I wonder if his name is Paolo?

Tonight was another memorable Valentine’s Day.  It was such a wonderful idea to have friends over, and we had great conversation over good food and yummy dessert.  When I sit back and think about the incredible friends I have, I’m always left speechless about the great gifts God has given me.  Whether my friends are here or somewhere else, I have met incredible women of God throughout my life, and I’ve learned so much from all of them.

Seriously, what more could a girl ask for on Valentine’s Day?  Pasta, chocolate, wine, and fantastic friends.

Pay no attention to the fact that we’re drinking red wine out of white wine glasses.  That was the least of my kitchen’s inadequacies tonight.  I don’t have enough forks for a dinner party of six.  Isn’t that hilarious?  Luckily, only one person had to use a plastic fork– and I made sure that person was me.

I think it’s a successful party when you use all your silverware.

I’m definitely doing this again in the near future.  We already decided that the next party will feature homemade ice cream (maybe I’ll branch out and make other flavors besides vanilla? Ha!) and chai with my cool frother/mixer/warmer-upper-thing.

And maybe I’ll buy more silverware before then.

2 thoughts on “a memorable Valentine’s Day.

  1. Tess S says:

    Joannie! I found your blog! And thanks for making my Valentine’s Day so memorable. It was even more memorable than the Valentine’s Day when my friend’s pet hedgehog, Peanut, bit me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

