coasting to a gift-giving victory

I was flipping through a magazine several months ago and found the cutest craft project.  While my sister’s medium is fabric these days, I’ve been suffering from a little addiction to paper.  So this craft was right up my alley.

Coasters!

The beauty of this project is three-fold: it’s easy, the possibilities for variations are endless, and it’s super cheap.

One weekend I made myself a set and fell in love with them.  I loved them so much, I couldn’t stop looking at them.  I didn’t blog about it then, although I was tempted, because I knew I wanted to make them for Christmas presents and wanted to surprise the recipients.

Supplies:

  • regular white bathroom/kitchen tiles (generally 4″x4″) — you can get them at the hardware store for about 15 cents a piece.  I’m sure I look hilarious going to Loew’s and spending a dollar or two.
  • scrapbook paper
  • Modge Podge
  • small foam brush
  • acrylic sealer spray
  • cork, felt, or foam
  • glue (super, Gorilla, or hot)

Cut the scrapbook paper to fit your tiles.  I cut the paper a bit smaller than the tiles so there’s a tiny border of white.

This is where the possibilities are endless.  There are so many types of scrapbook paper … but there’s also children’s artwork, maps, ticket stubs, magazine clippings…  One of my friends copied sheet music of old folk songs for a musician friend.  how cute is that!?

Use Modge Podge and the foam brush to adhere the paper to the tile.  If you dislike the look of the streaks of Modge Podge over your paper, cover the top of the tile with Modge Podge and position the paper, but don’t put Modge Podge on top of the paper.   I covered the tile with Modge Podge, placed the paper on the tile, and then painted on the top as well because I had trouble with my edges rolling up.  Make sure to get rid of air bubbles.

The Modge Podge will dry clear.

After the Modge Podge is dry, take the coasters outside and spray the acrylic coating to seal them.  If you haven’t used the Modge Podge on the top of the paper, this acrylic sealer will seal the top of the paper to the coaster.  If you have used Modge Podge, this sealer should keep the Modge Podge from getting sticky again and the coaster from sticking to your coffee cup.  I skipped this step with the first coasters I made, and it was not a good thing.

Make sure you take them outside — the spray is potent.  I sprayed them with three coats, letting them dry a little in between.  The sealer makes them shiny and pretty.  Let them dry completely before really moving them.

Cut foam, felt, or cork for the back.  I’ve tried felt and foam, and I like foam the best.  A friend of mine tried cork, and she found that the ridges on the back of the tile caused the cork to separate a little and look sloppy.  It could be because she used hot glue, too, which is a bit bulkier than super glue.  I used Gorilla glue, which I really like.

Tada!  You’re all set.  Now tie them in pretty bows, and you have the perfect gift!

5 thoughts on “coasting to a gift-giving victory

  1. Jessica says:

    I LOVE those!!! How cute and they seem really easy to make! I may have to try those out some day. Right now i have beach themed coasters…. they aren’t really working out for me so much with the snow. So maybe i’ll find some scrapbook paper that I like and play around with it one weekend.

    • joanallegretti says:

      I didn’t even think of that! Hm…. if only there was something else I could do. But a coaster shop might be fun!! 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    It was fun to see all of the different ones since I only got to see one of the sets you made. AOL had a tutorial for modpodging a whole wall. I think the next tutorial will have to be how to un-modpodge the wall when you get tired of it.

Leave a Reply

