Sweet Home Tennessee

This was a text-message exchange tonight between my brother and I:

me: If I used twitter, I would tweet “currently listening to Mark Matejka playing Sweet Home Alabama in a restaurant that looks like a grocery store.”

him: I don’t know what that means, but that was an awesome sentence.

Some friends and I went to listen to our friends l’Angelus’ play at a nice little southern restaurant tonight.  I’ve talked about them before — if you haven’t checked them out yet, you really should: cajunrecords.com The whole show was a lot of fun, as usual, but towards the end they were joined on stage by a stranger who played the guitar really well.

It turned out to be Mark Matejka, a guitarist for Lynyrd Skynyrd.  When he was encouraged to join them for another song, we were pleased to hear them break out into Sweet Home Alabama.

Needless to say, it was awesome.  Especially when they added a little Cajun-swing-jam at the end.

And that was my night.

Apologies for the rotten picture.  My phone is a phone, not a camera.  And Stephen’s head is not exploding, nor is that some sort of strange hat.  There was a street light outside that wanted to ruin my picture.  My apologies also to Katie and Johnny, who are hiding in this picture, although they were indeed on the stage playing.

One thought on “Sweet Home Tennessee

Leave a Reply

