post office update or “how to get things done”

Whenever I need to title things (which in the blogging world is often), I think about the old Rocky and Bullwinkle shows when they would title everything twice.  I was too young to get the humor and always wondered why they titled everything twice.

This is an update on my mail.  I know you’re all enraged and waiting on the edge of your seats to find out what has happened and if this injustice is going to be remedied.

A wise woman told me to contact my state representative and senator.  Her husband (my father) told me to contact my federal representative and senator.  So I contacted all of them.

My state senator, Douglas Henry, emailed me and told me to contact US Representative Jim Cooper and he would do the same. I don’t know if he did, although the email actually looked like he typed it and looked pretty legit.

The first time I contacted Jim Cooper and Lamar Alexander (my US Senator), I didn’t hear anything.  Then I emailed them again.

I’ll spare you all the long story, because I’ve already dragged it on enough.

Suffice to say, I got a call from Jim Cooper’s office telling me that my mail would be delivered to my apartment complex office.  Jim Cooper’s office called my apartment complex and the post office to get to the bottom of why poor me was not receiving my mail!

The post office made my apartment complex look bad, when it was really mostly their fault, but at this point, all I care is that it made things move and now the box is fixed.

I’m not receiving mail there yet (I’m going to the clubhouse every day and announcing, “The troublemaker is here to get her mail,” which they seem to get a kick out of – for now) but it looks hopeful that tomorrow, on the three-week anniversary of the beginning of the mail mess, I might actually have mail delivered to my box.  (It does leave me wondering about my neighbors, though.  Has anyone else noticed that we haven’t received mail for three weeks?  Are my neighbors that apathetic?  I mean, I know I get stirred up easily (I am Judy’s daughter, after all), but seriously?  Three weeks?  Why do I have to be the irate one all the time?)

The irony?  I voted against the two representatives who helped me, Senator Henry and Representative Cooper.  In fact, Representative Cooper makes my blood pressure rise and has received plenty of emails from me about the fact that he does not represent the true wishes of his TN constituents.

But he helps them out when they’re in a pinch.

Thanks, Representative Cooper!  (I still disagree with you about fundamental things.  But maybe we can be friends anyway.)

3 thoughts on “post office update or “how to get things done”

  1. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for reminding me that I need to pick up a “Hold Mail” card at the post office! I tried the on-line form twice before but it didn’t work the way it was supposed to…I still got mail; so I have reverted back to the big yellow card method. Maybe it’s just our little town– it has a hard time moving forward sometimes.

Leave a Reply

