books, books, and books

You can never have too many books.  This was a lesson I learned from growing up in the Watson household, and it’s a lesson I’ve learned well– considering I have three bookshelves in my apartment [my dining room is my library :)] and enough books for two or three more.

A few weeks ago, my teaching travels brought me to a little parish that was cleaning out their old library.  The room where we were teaching was lined on one side by tables full of books — all of which were going to be donated to the public library, unless anyone claimed them first.

I was in heaven — it was like a giant scavenger hunt, looking for the good ones amongst some crazy ones.  And there was quite a selection.  I found Louis deWohl’s book on St. Francis, which I recommended to one of my fellow teachers.  When she said she hadn’t read any deWohl yet, I told her The Spear was my favorite – deWohl’s book about St. Longinus, the Roman solider who pierced the side of Christ with his lance.  At our next break, I was looking through the books again, and found an old 1970s copy of The Spear!  Every time I went to the tables, I found something else.

This is the little stash I came home with — minus a few that are not pictured because they’re crazy and I don’t want to scandalize anyone.  (Hey, if you’re going to study theology, you need to know what the wackos are saying/have said, too)

The loot included:

The Lord by Romano Guardini.  I haven’t read any Guardini, and I’m looking forward to it.  (Someday.)

Cardinal Mindszenty Speaks.  I recognized the Cardinal’s name and picked this up because I had a sense it was important.  It turns out that Cardinal Mindszenty was a Hungarian cardinal who asked that a collection of his papers be made public in foreign countries as a “white book” in case he was arrested.  This is part of  that collection.  It says on the front page, “Published by the order of Joseph Cardinal Mindszenty.”  It should be an interesting read.

The Creed in Slow Motion, by Ronald Knox.  I love Knox.

St Joseph and Daily Christian Living by Francis Filas, SJ.  I had never heard of Father Filas, but he’s supposedly an expert on St Joseph.  This might be my Advent reading.

This is the Holy Land, by Fulton J. Sheen.  Love Fulton Sheen.  Love his “this is…” books.

Love’s Sacred Order, by Erasmo Leiva-Merikakis.  I was given his “the Way of the Disciple” as a gift and really enjoyed it.  So I grabbed this one, figuring it must be good.  It’s on the Four Loves.

Our Lady of Guadalupe, by Father George Lee.  This was just a cute little book- published in 1946 – on the apparitions, the historical time, the results, etc.  I couldn’t pass it up.  I can rarely pass up cute old books.

I think I need another bookshelf.

4 thoughts on “books, books, and books

  1. Liza says:

    I’m reading that Guardini right now, too! Well, along with about 50 other books. I’m easily distracted (but that isn’t a cut against Guardini or any other authors!)

    Have a great day!!

    • joanallegretti says:

      A Kindle? You’re talking to a girl who hasn’t even splurged and bought an iPod!! Hahaha!

      Yes, I agree– there’s something about holding a real book!

Leave a Reply

