an open letter to Sweet CeCe

Dear Sweet Cece,

I’m going to be open and honest with you.  I cheated tonight.

I never should have done it.  But Pinkberry wooed me with her Californian sophistication, her modern decor, her newness.

She used her pumpkin feature flavor to flirt with me, and teased me with her “Swirly Whip.”  Her toppings seemed endless.

As I sat there and ate, I felt dirty.  I was having an affair with Pinkberry.  And it felt so wrong.

I cheated on you, and left feeling cheated.  The “swirly whip” was just plain whipped cream.  And the pumpkin taste was overwhelmed by the tart yogurt taste.  It was more like eating Dannon yogurt than frozen yogurt.  The toppings were sparse and I would have added more — if I had been in control.

And Pinkberry was so darn expensive.  A “mini” was four bites of yogurt and set me back as much as a huge cup full of wonderful toppings from you would have cost.

On my way home, I drove by your bright windows with a guilty conscience.  I’ll be back, Sweet Cece’s.  Pinkberry just wasn’t the same.  And rumor has it, you have pumpkin right now, too.  And I have a punch card filled and ready for a free cup…

I’ll be back, Sweet Cece’s!

 

PS The brilliance of this imagery has to be credited to my friend Ann, who commented while we were sitting in Pinkberry, not enjoying our yogurt, “I feel like I’m having an affair, and I’m not enjoying it.”

3 thoughts on “an open letter to Sweet CeCe

  1. UTTER BLASPHEMY! I left Sweet CeCe’s for Pinkberry… I guess that makes me a polygamist? Because I’ll be back to Sweet CeCe’s, I have a coupon and it’s closer…

    BUT WOW… Pinkberry is oh so wonderful. IMO, it’s nothing like Dannon! It’s sweet tarty goodness. Yes, it is pricy… but still!

Leave a Reply

