will I get chopped?

I’m attempting to make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls for my boss’s feast day tomorrow.   It was going pretty well — my yeast reacted well, my dough rose perfectly, it rolled out nicely…

But then I had to roll up the dough and cut it into little rolls.  How can something so simple-sounding be so hard?

I have a new appreciation for cinnamon rolls.  Look at the ones pictured at the recipe!  Seriously?  How’d she do that?!  Mine were pretty disastrous-looking:

I hope they taste better than they look.

Maybe once they rise tomorrow morning, they’ll magically look like cinnamon rolls?  Or else I’ll just rename them, “Pumpkin Cinnamon Blobs.”

I was feeling sorry for myself until I tuned into the Chopped marathon tonight (I love that show) and saw on the grand finale of the tournament that they needed to use waffle cones, Buddha’s hand, geoduck, and black radishes in their appetizer.  I’d never even heard of three of those four ingredients.

I think I’ll stick with my blobs.

Stay tuned.

P.S. Um, is it weird that the finale of the Chopped Championship made me tear up?!

3 thoughts on “will I get chopped?

    • joanallegretti says:

      They list all the secret ingredients on the screen. If it hadn’t have been, yes, I would have thought it was spelled “gooey duck.”

      Buddha’s hand is this creepy-looking fruit. Most of them used the zest of it like you would lemon zest.

      Did you watch it? It was really touching. Or maybe it was just because I had watched these guys through the whole championship.

      • Jill says:

        I think I was watching Dancing with the Stars instead. er, no – i was reading Dostoevsky. In the original Russian. yes, that’s what I was doing.

Leave a Reply

