a cake fit for the Stig

I don’t suppose it makes sense to post about something that includes references so obscure it will take the whole post to try to explain what the post is actually about.  This is probably a post that will make everyone’s brain explode as they try to follow it, like when I include lots of tangents inside of parentheses (which I’ve heard makes comprehending my paragraphs nearly impossible.)

And yet I’m going to post about my cake, regardless of the obscure references, because I was so proud of my creativity.

Quick, before you read any further — if any of my readers have any idea what I’m talking about (namely, what the heck is up with my cake as pictured and/or who the heck “the Stig” is) you get some sort of prize.

crickets chirping

Yeah, I thought so.

Well, I won’t bore you too much.  (I hope.)  I was commissioned to make my friend Dan’s birthday cake this week.  My friend Dan is the husband of my friend Darcy, and he loves cars and racing.  He also loves this BBC show called Top Gear, which is much more than a car show.  It’s a blend of cars, humor, celebrities, challenges, and news.  (I’m watching it “On Demand” as I type this, actually.)  

There are three guys who host the show, but there’s also a test driver called “The Stig.”  You don’t know who the Stig is — he has a helmet on and his identity is a mystery.  On the show, he completes a lap in a car they’re reviewing to gauge the performance of the car.  He’s an incredible driver and since no one knows who he is, there is a lot of mystery and personality swirling around him.  Various drivers have joked that they’re the Stig:

Mark Webber is the Stig?

… but his identity remains a mystery (for now.  But that’s another story.)

So Dan’s favorite cake is German Chocolate.  But this just isn’t any old German Chocolate.  It’s a Nurburing German Chocolate!  Nurburing is one of the most famous racetracks in the world. (Being from Indiana, I have to qualify that with “one of” …)  I know, we’re not talking about Daytona or Bristol – Dan has opened my eyes to a world beyond left-hand turns.  It’s a whole motorsports complex in Germany, and while they don’t use the whole track anymore, the track once looked like this:

Hence, the funny looking design on the top of the cake.

A German Chocolate cake fit for the Stig.  (Dan’s the Stig… but shhh, don’t tell anyone.)

P.S. I’ve never made German Chocolate cake before, and I always seem to try new recipes when the pressure is high!  But the cake turned out really well.  I used David Lebovitz‘s recipe, and it was fantastic.  Although I admit… I cheated and used a box German Chocolate cake, and used David’s recipes for the filling and the icing.  I had some issue with the icing, but not after Mom suggested I stick it in the fridge for a bit.  After that, it was so beautiful and easy to frost, although it was in the fridge a little long and it was really hard to pipe (hence, no pretty piping around the edge of the cake. But I think the Nurburing made up for that?).  It was delish!!

3 thoughts on “a cake fit for the Stig

    • joanallegretti says:

      Seriously!? you’re awesome, cousin — and you never cease to amaze me. I’ll be thinking of your prize! : ) I’m heading your way later this Fall… (that’s not your prize, haha!)

Leave a Reply

