Hello, Summer.

30 Apr

Well, almost.  Tomorrow is the last day of finals at school, and observing the students vacillating between the stress and the sadness of the end of the year brings back lots of memories.

Is anyone else shocked it’s May?

I have a lot of work ahead of me.  While I’ve been lounging on my couch at night watching episode after episode of Murdoch Mysteries, the days are slipping by and the summer is quickly approaching.  I have a talk on Pope Benedict, Art, Beauty, and the New Evangelization to write. I have another blog to nurture, since I want it a little beefier when my bio appears in the Franciscan Conferences program alllll summer long.  (“Who’s this girl on the very last page?  Oh, let’s check out her website.  Why is she still talking about Holy Saturday?”)

And as the weather gets warmer, my schedule will be filling up with free outdoor concerts, the kickoff of the summer social season (Steeplechase), trips to wineries, baseball games, and pool time.  When am I going to write that great American novel?

I will post soon about my sister’s fun visit to Nashville.  Until then, I’ll leave you with some pictures from Easter Monday (or in Italy, Pasquetta), most of which I spent driving.  I drove back to Nashville and then almost immediately headed further south to Chattanooga to see Nickel Creek.

IMG_7838

Pardon me boys, is that the Chattanooga Choo-Choo?  (Why, yes it is.)

Nickel Creek was the soundtrack for so many memories in high school and college, and once they broke up in 2007, I assumed I would never have the chance to see them live.  Then my friend Trena texted me one day with the happy news that not only were they releasing a new album, there would be a reunion tour to a few select cities.  Nashville was on the tour, but on Good Friday and Holy Saturday.  Then a few weeks later I got an early-morning text from another friend: “Nickel Creek Chattanooga Easter Monday?”   They had expanded the tour!  I didn’t think very long before buying four tickets and hoping I could find two more friends to join us…

And we did!

The concert was incredible — I could dance and marvel at Chris Thile’s artistry all day.  And he didn’t even look tired at the end of it all.   They played a perfect mix of old and new. The crowd was amazing — standing shows always have their own energy, but this crowd sang, cheered, and recognized every song after a few opening chords.  It was brilliant.

IMG_7816Okay, off to go read some Pope Benedict.

 

3 Responses to “Hello, Summer.”

  1. Jill May 1, 2014 at 6:06 am #

    if you could own just one album of theirs, which one would it be?

    • Joannie May 1, 2014 at 6:56 am #

      Hm. I think I’m going to have to say “Nickel Creek” … Their style has changed, but that’s just so classic Nickel Creek and it’s all the stuff I love. Favorites on that album are In the House of Tom Bombadil and The Fox, but I don’t think there’s a single song I don’t like. For the “newer” sound, I like Why Should the Fire Die? but I think you’d like the first one better. If I didn’t want to make a decision, I would say Reasons Why, which is just a compilation of their best (pre-reunion).

  2. Jane May 2, 2014 at 8:50 am #

    Joannie, I am so glad that the concert was good! I am a huge Nickel Creek fan, and Jack, Sarah and I have tickets for their show here on May 7th (happy anniversary/birthday to us/me!). Did I mention that they are 2nd row seats (thank you, fan site pre-sale)??? Sarah and I actually debated coming down to Nashville for one of their shows, but they sold out so fast we couldn’t get tickets! We knew we would have some places to stay if it worked out :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 672 other followers